Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Aussie national day in Tassie πŸ₯°

    January 26 in Australia β‹… πŸŒ™ 15 Β°C

    First of all - happy Australian national day! πŸ‡¦πŸ‡ΊπŸ₯³
    Once again the alarm clock went off veeery early...see picture 😬
    So I got ready, walked to the airport (so glad the hostel was just a 10 mins walk from there) and dropped off the backpack.
    The plane took off punctually at 6 am and almost 3 hours later i safely landed in Tasmania 🀩πŸ₯³ so excitedto be here!
    When picking up my rental car, one of the agents said it's a must to go to the Cateract Gorge when staying in Launceston, so I did right away. πŸ˜‰
    Driving there was a bit thrilling, since it's the first time for me to drive on the left side πŸš™↔️ but I got used to it quiet fast πŸ™
    The place was really nice, since it's not only the Gorge itself, but also a national park around. 🏞
    Even thought it's been rather crowded at the beginning - probably because it was a holiday and there's also a pool and a basin to swim in - I kept on walking paths for around 4 hours and probably met only 10 other people. 🀠
    Soooo enjoyed the hiking...being just with myself, listening to the Wind and the sounds of the wood and oh, this smell of pines...love it! 😍
    But I also had other encounters...with 2 wild kangaroos 🦘🦘 and 2 snakes 🐍🐍. For those who know how easily I get scared...you can imagine my reaction when I saw the snakes in the corner of my eye right next to the path 😱
    After this adventurous walk I drove to the hotel, did some grocery shopping & enjoyed my dinner in a nearby park. 😊πŸ₯•πŸ₯‘πŸ₯ͺ

    Soundtrack of the day:
    Meet me in the woods - Lord Huron
    https://open.spotify.com/track/54hj06Z7sm7DaHSr…
    Read more