Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 42

    Hiking Cradle Mountain...almost πŸ˜¬πŸ”

    January 28 in Australia β‹… ☁️ 12 Β°C

    Today I jumped into the car at 6 am, as I had a 2.5h drive ahead in order to get to the Cradle mountain visitor center. πŸš— yes, i know...early start again πŸ˜…πŸ••
    The sun rises pretty early in Tasmania (around 6ish), so the whole trip was during daylight - thankfully, as driving by night is not really recommended due to wildlife. πŸ¦˜πŸ¦”
    I started in bright sunshine, but the closer I got to Cradle mountain, the more misty and cloudy it got. πŸ™ˆ
    And phew...it was coooold when I got out of the car πŸ₯Ά
    Nevertheless, you know there's no bad weather but only bad clothing...so I put on 4 layers (finally I know why I brought 3 longsleeves and a rain jacket!) and started walking. 🚢🏼‍♀️and what shall I do....the mountains are calling and I must go 🀷🏼‍β™€οΈπŸ€­
    I don't really mind rough conditions when doing sports outdoors, and actually kind of enjoyed the rain and the chilly air (yeah, you can call me a weirdo πŸ˜…). The wind was a bit annoying, since it was really cold and stormy most of the time, but I really wanted to go to the summit, and what doesn't killy you only makes you stronger, right?! πŸ˜‰
    I knew there were only 2 things that could stop me from doing it:
    * a sudden change in weather or a snowstorm 🌨 which can happen within minutes at Cradle mountain, even in summer
    * snakes 🐍 especially as a nice Lady on the shuttle told me that the one I saw at the Gorge was pretty venomous 😳
    So I kept on going and made the turn to the summit when I got to the repective junction πŸ” after nearly 2 hours.
    Being already soaked, I walked on for several minutes but then decided to turn back down, as it was getting even more foggy and stormy up there πŸ˜• pretty annoying and disappointing, as I'm not someone who's giving up easily...especially when it comes to sports πŸ˜– but I've been walking alone, without service and didn't want to risk anything...but still πŸ˜‘πŸ˜«
    So after a while I got a little cold, and what's the only thing that makes you warm up again?πŸ€” Right, moving faster πŸ˜†πŸ€­ thus I turned my hike into a little trailrun, which was so much fun!! 🀩🀩 reminded me on how much I love doing this sports and being out on the trails πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°
    Once I got down I surrounded Dove Lake 🏞, before I finished my track for the day - ended up being 18km & 950m of altitude...thus not too bad ☺️
    Afterwards I just drove to Deloraine, a cute little village I'm staying at for a night.

    Soundtrack of the day:
    Stronger - Kanye West
    https://open.spotify.com/track/1gudTcOiMosmCC6E…
    Read more