Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 68–69

    Rainforest from above πŸš πŸ˜† & bye Cairns

    February 23 in Australia β‹… 🌧 27 Β°C

    For my third day in Cairns a fellow dutchie and I spontanously decided to go to Kuranda, known for being a village in the middle of the rainforest. 😊
    There are 3 ways to get there
    - by πŸš‚, which is still closed due to damage caused by cyclone Jasper in december πŸ˜•
    - by πŸš—, which I didn't have 🀷🏼‍♀️
    - by 🚠, where the gondula is hovering only meters above the treetops 🀩

    There were 2 stops on the way up with really nice viewpoints. πŸ“Έ The second one overlooking the Barron falls, which were super impressive due to the amout of rain lately. πŸ’™
    In Kurada we just strolled around a bit as the village is not very big.
    I visited the butterfly sanctuary, which was super interesting. Butterflies are such beautiful and interesting creatures! πŸ¦‹πŸ¦‹
    Before heading back down again, we went to another viewpoint for the Barren falls - this time from the other side. πŸ˜†
    I spent the evening in town where I met up with another traveller from Switzerland to have some drinks. 🍻

    For my last day in Cairns I did nothing special...besides starting the day with a morning run along the esplanade (way too hot, even though I started at 6:30 am πŸ₯΅), checked out the weekend-market πŸ‰πŸπŸ₯­πŸ₯₯πŸ₯‘, spoiled myself with a little massage πŸ’†πŸΌ‍♀️, and just chilled at the hostel 🦦 before going to the airport in the afternoon to get to my last destination -> Sydney!

    Soundtrack of the day:
    Schmetterling- Team Scheisse
    https://open.spotify.com/track/0yVwmU7MkyiuIPJV…
    Read more