Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 78

    Johnston Canyon and Ink Pots Trail

    July 17, 2019 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    I managed to get one hike in today - the Johnston Canyon and Ink Pots trail. I’d read it gets busy so I was there for around 9am but the car park was already full and cars were parked all up the sides of the road. I took to the trail and right enough, there were lots of people at both the lower and upper falls, but starting from the upper falls to the ink pots it started to quieten off. Still there were enough people that I was never on the trail on my own. The ink pots are fascinating - they are mineral springs, and they are all different colours because they fill at different rates. And a nice spot for a picnic! 😊 I thought I would do another hike this afternoon but underestimated how long this one was - 11.2km return. So I decided to visit Banff and had a wander downtown. Wow...it was super busy, it took about half an hour to find somewhere to park. It’s a nice place but so overcrowded! Finished my day in the Banff hot springs!Read more