Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 79

    Upper Grassi Lakes

    July 18, 2019 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    The sun was shining this morning so I made my way to a trail I was wanting to do but not before giving it a lot of thought...on the park website there was a bear warning in place for this trail. But I had my bear spray with me that I bought yesterday, and I decided I would just ask a group if I could join them when I got there. So I arrived and was surprised that the car park wasn’t completely full yet. I met someone that also came on her own so we teamed up and hiked together! Turned out the bear was seen on the trail 10 days ago, so my guess would be that it’s long gone... 🤷🏻‍♀️ Anyway, the trail was pretty busy so lots of other people around. There was a choice of an easy or harder way up so we chose the harder option. It was worth it. The views were stunning, and we saw a waterfall too. But once we reached the top, wow!!! The colours of these lakes were just stunning! In the afternoon I went downtown to a market and then decided to go to Vermilion lakes for the sunset. Well, there wasn’t a sun to set but impressive views nonetheless! Packed up and ready to leave Canmore behind tomorrow for a few days in Lake Louise!Read more