Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Day Twenty-Four: Pisa to Florence

    April 8 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Today was quite the sick day for us. Very slow. We headed over to Pisa in the morning for a quick detour. After being there and seeing it, I feel like it's one of those places you go to just to say you have seen it. Don't get me wrong, it is a beautiful tower with a fascinating history, but after seeing some of the craziest stuff in europe, this becomes average ahaha. I did not know about other buildings that are right beside it. I always thought it was on its own. We didn't get to go into away of them because we only had like 20 minutes to walk around. Apparently, in Pisa, it is illegal to sell and buy stuff in random places that aren't licensed, but if the cop sees it, you get the ticket, not the seller... Then off to Florence! I felt so bad on the couch. My sickness turned into a cough that kept me up last night, and for everyone to hear and get them sick... but in Florence, I did not get a chance to see david. Honestly, I didn't get a chance to see much at all. We started as a group and went to a leather, gold, and silver store. And it did smell great, got to love leather. They had a little talk about leather and the history of it as well as how their stuff is made. Honestly, I wasn't too interested. Both me and Ethan just wanted to sit and eat. We bolted out as soon as we could and just went on our own, so we didn't have to small talk. We ended up getting a sandwich, which was very interesting it had pickled zucchini, maybe? No idea but I did finish that salty ass sandwich. Afterward, we got some authentic gelato. Bec gave us tips on how to tell if it's fresh: in silver containers, not overflowing, and banana flavor can't be yellow. But then we walked to a really nice cafe and had this random iced drink, maybe matcha. It wasn't bad. Then, before the bus came, I just laid down on the grass in the sun. I needed that for sure. And of course, tonight was the Tuscan evening event with contiki. So we quickly got dressed and went off. The dinner was amazing. The whole trip, both Ethan and I have been waiting for steak; here we got Tuscan steak too... the massive tomahawk steak. But I'm getting a head of myself, as you can see I really love my meat ahah. It was a four course meal with wine as well. It was on a Tuscan winery as well. It was nice because our table had two empty seats so we got more wine and food than all the other tables. And of course I have to take advantage and drink as much wine as possible. The dinner cost 55 euro so I need my money's worth. The course was antipasto (meat, bread, and bruschetta), pasta (rigatoni in a tomato sauce), the steak, and desert (some random cake). Honestly, it was a great experience, the wine was good, the food was delicious, and we got serenaded by an opera singer. He had such a beautiful voice, and it really brought the night together. There was also a guy playing the piano and playing other types of music. And he played some fun songs so everyone got up and danced. Ethan and I also slowed dance, which was funny. I did get caught being a little too handsy. Very good night, but the bus right back was tough. Everyone was singing, and music was blasting, yet I was sick, tired, and ready for bed. So when we got back I went straight there.Read more