Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Bozeman And Back To Society

    September 29, 2016 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 12 °C

    After hiking in Yellowstone it was time to figure out my next move. I was hoping that the weather was going to be a little warmer or that the equipment I brought would allow me to be more comfortable in the temperatures I experienced in the Tetons and Yellowstone. Unfortunately I was not so lucky. In looking at the attitude and latitude of Glacier national park, I made the choice to come back to that park at a later date. I'm not thrilled about missing Glacier, but I don't hold up very well in the cold especially when I'm sleeping in a tent and can't warm up sufficiently at the end of the day. I'll see you soon Glacier, but not today.

    On with my plans. What do I do now? Reggie has told me about Bozeman Montana which happens to be a short drive from Mammoth Hot Springs, which is the northern most entrance to Yellowstone. I decide to go for it after making contact with Reggie and a friend of his in Bozeman. First stop is a coffee shop. I know, I'm not a huge coffee drinker, but the atmosphere in a coffee shop is exactly what I felt like. I was a little hungry, so I got a muffin and drank a coffee, used their Wi-Fi and sat in a comfortable chair for an hour or so. I also made use of a nice toilet that didn't have spider webs all over it. Ahh, the comforts of society.

    After coffee and a snack, I made my way to Paul and Keiley's house. Without realizing it, I had already met Paul at Reggie's bachelor party, but didn't know it was the same person. It was good to see a familiar face after several weeks on the road. Paul and Keiley greeted me outside with a beer in hand. I wasn't expecting it, but I really enjoyed that beer. After unpacking the bike and getting my things together, we went inside and hung out in their living room for a bit. They let me take a shower, which was many days overdue, and we went out for dinner. After some great conversation and good food, I was welcomed back to their house with a real mattress! Today was a good day. Another highlight of the day is the price of beer out here, it's dirt cheap compared to Boston and other cities.

    The next morning I had to figure out my next move. Paul and Kieley generously offered to let me stay another night or two but after checking the weather and looking at mileage, I didn't want to wait to get to Seattle. I packed up, said my goodbyes and hit the road. Special thanks goes out to Paul and Keiley, for hosting me. It makes a huge difference in my travels.

    Pictures: The view on the hike out of Yellowstone after two nights in the backcountry. The sign on the bulletin board at the trailhead.
    Read more