Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Not in Kansas anymore

    September 18, 2019 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Today's KMs - 0 kms (official Camino kms)
    Total KMs - 256.7 KMs
    Total blisters - 7 + same

    Oviedo is big! Definately not what we've been used to over the past week. It has a McDonald's and Starbucks - the first set of junk food we've seen. So much good food, coffee and shopping here with lots of brands we can't get back home (not in Adelaide anyway). Not tempted though considering I'll have to carry any extra weight in my pack for another 350+ kms. The Camino markers here are even more up market - gold shells 😊

    In the end it seems like we made the right decision to take a rest day. I've been icing and elevating my "cankles" with Simon's ice cold beer cans. Beer is so cheap here, from 40 - 65 cents a can, with so much variety. A can of coke costs more than a can of beer! Wasted on me but Simon is making full use of the opportunity.

    Can't wait to start the challenging Camino Primitivo tomorrow. It should be good heading into the mountains. It will be more remote with fewer albergues and limited/ no wifi. I'm mentally ready for the long up and down hills. I just hope my feet will hold up!
    Read more