Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Lagos at last

    March 31, 2019 in Nigeria ⋅ ☀️ 33 °C

    Landed 3:10pm. Immigration was a breeze ( thru by 3:35pm) although I still don't understand why we need two persons to stamp you back into the country. The first person checks your passport (probably for the exit stamp) and then directs you to the next person who scans your passport and stamps it after. I think the scanner should be able to detect if you had a recent exit record and flag appropriately thus eliminating the need for the additional immigration officer.

    The bags came out pretty fast, by 3:45pm I was out of the airport, the customs officers were more interested in stopping oyibos so nobody disturbed me. Got a car hire for N3,000 to the new domestic terminal.

    Serious road construction ongoing on the airport road, a fly over is being built to ease flow of traffic.

    5.40pm Aero connecting flight to Port Harcourt cancelled. Up Naija. Now I am stuck in Lagos for one night and I was really looking forward to sleeping in my house this evening. Oh well.

    Spent the night at Citiheight hotel Ikeja (N20,000) after changing the cancelled flight to 1:00 PM next day.

    Total flight time from Dakar to Lagos (without the stopover) was 3 hrs 30 mins. Incidentally it was the same plane which brought me from Dakar that also took me from Lome to Lagos and I sat on the same seat 20A
    Read more