Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Train to Nairobi

    September 22, 2018 in Kenya ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Woke up early to pack my suitcase, had breakfast, checked out (10:23 am) of the resort, paying for drinks and the lunch I had on the first day as my booking was on half board (breakfast & dinner inclusive) but no drinks. Since my train departs Mombasa at 3:15 pm I had a lot of time to burn, so I dropped my suitcase with the porter and went to seat by the beach, enjoying the cool breeze till about 1:00 pm when I called an Uber to take me to the Mombasa SGR Terminus.

    The terminus looks like an airport, security is tight, with dogs sniffing luggage and another check at the entrance into the building. Since I bought a 1st class ticket I was allowed to take the list to the 1st class waiting lounge to wait until called to board.
    Train departed promptly at 3:15 pm, ate lunch in the train restaurant. Passed through Tsavo park. Beautiful scenery along the route. Being an express train we didn’t stop until we arrived at Nairobi at 8:14 pm. Took a taxi to the hotel paying Ksh 1,000. Checked in and then called an Uber to K1 club for dinner. Very few customers at K1. Returned back to the hotel shortly after mid night.
    Read more