Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Banjul, Gambia at last..

    November 2, 2017 in Gambia

    Arriving in Banjul, Gambia late at night didn't give me the opportunity to assess the country well. The tour company I had contacted days earlier sent a driver and vehicle to pick me up from the airport. Immigration was a breeze and I was stamped in after answering questions on purpose of trip, duration and where I will be staying. Drive from the airport to the resort hotel was over 30mins and it appeared as if we were driving out of Banjul.

    My resort hotel Senegambia Beach hotel was located in a resort town called Serrekunda.

    The road leading to the hotel, known as the "strip" has lots of bars, restaurants and night clubs. The area is geared towards tourism and had all the facilities and services tourist need, including numerous bureau de change.

    Immediately after checking into my room, I took a stroll out to eat as I was famished from the long flight. I got a jollof rice looking meal which didn't taste like it but was edible nevertheless and pushed it down with a local beer.

    On my walk back to the hotel I stopped at a mobile phone store to buy a sim card and load with data.
    Read more