Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Tour of Banjul

    November 4, 2017 in Gambia

    The tour company came to pick me up at 9:30am but alas because of the previous night clubbing I didn't wake up until the reception called to tell me the driver was waiting for me. Without having my bath, I brushed my teeth wore my clothes and left the room. I had the whole tour bus to myself.

    My first stop during the tour was the Kachikally Crocodile Pool where I got to touch a live adult crocodile. I was told that certain people come to the pool to pray for children and pray for other ailments. It is a sacred place in Gambia. Dotted around the pool are Baobab trees hundreds of years old with big trunks. From there we continued through Serrekunda city which happens to be the busiest and largest city in Gambia, where I visited a tie and dye factory owned by a Gambian lady who has been in the profession for over 30 years.

    Next stop was the Gambia National Museum to learn about the culture, tradition and artifacts of the native Gambians. Apparently Gambia was part of British West Africa during the colonial era and used the same currency with Nigeria, Ghana and Sierrea Leone then.

    Then we proceeded to St. Albert's Market which I was told was the busiest market and was warned to keep my valuables safe from pick pockets, I was sub consciously expecting a Balogun market, push me I push you scenario but alas it was almost like a deserted market, no crowd at all, no one pushing or brushing against me as I walked through the market. Told my tour guide he needs to come to Nigeria to see what a busy market looks like. I bought some dresses as gifts and souvenirs.

    Finally we drove to the New Bacchus Restaurant (Nefertiti) for a well deserved lunch, facing the beach. Lovely scenery.

    After lunch we headed back to the hotel stopping over at Arch 22 briefly which I am told was built to commemorate the July 22nd Revolution. It is a 37m high Arch the top of which has a viewing deck to see the whole city from.

    The tour guide and driver were full of praises for Nigeria and our President Muhammed Buhari for helping them dislodge the sit tight Gambian President Yahyah Jammeh early in the year. They told a story of how President Buhari (an ex Army General) visited President Jammeh earlier and pleaded with him to relinquish power to the man who won the election, but Jammeh stubbornly said no, over his dead body. So Buhari stood up and said I will be back. Went back to Nigeria and mobilized the mighty Nigerian Military. Jammeh on learning that the Nigerian Military was enroute to The Gambia called Buhari and said "Alhaji na play now, I don ready to leave power ..."

    Spent early evening at Poco Loco bar by the beach before heading off to the clubs along the strip.
    Read more