Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Day 10

    October 8, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    This morning we packed up and headed to our next destination, San Antonio. Before entering the freeway we found a Denny's restaurant for breakfast before the long drive ahead. Although it nearly ended up being a lot longer, as Ted entered West Colombia (in the south) as our next destination into the GPS, as opposed to Colombus (in the west) where we were meant to go.

    The drive was about three hours, but we are quite happy with the hotel where we are staying, as a change from staying at an AirBnB accommodation. Once getting to our room, we walked 20 minutes downtown until we reached the River Walk. It was really nice. I wasn't sure what to expect but it was a really beautiful restaurant and pub area that has been built along the river going through the city. What I liked most is that it is actually under the city, meaning you don't have any traffic or other businesses taking away any of the ambiance of the area.

    We had lunch at a riverside restaurant which came complete with a mariachi band. We were going to go to nearby Dick's since the prices were decent, but there seemed to be a weird tradition of making the guests wear a condom shaped hat while they were dining. Since San Antonio is well known for The Alamo, I went back up to the city to see it. Ted didn't want to as he had seen it before, so I went and explored by myself.

    With all due respect to the USA, I didn't find it very interesting. I imagine it is a part of US history, but for a foreigner like myself, I didn't really understand the significance. Whilst I liked the historic building and gardens, I wasn't really familiar enough with the history of The Alamo to appreciate what I was seeing.

    We had seen enough sights for the day, so we caught an Uber back to our hotel. I did some laundry before Ted realised he had left his razor behind in the last hotel. We tried going to a nearby Chinese restaurant for dinner but since it was closed, we drove across town to a Walmart so Ted could buy another razor. We ended up buying some dinner there which was significantly cheaper than eating out again.

    Tonight we had an earlier night since we are back on the road again tomorrow, towards Austin.
    Read more