Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Reconnections

    June 28, 2022 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 75 °F

    I've decided the theme for this trip has been Reconnections. Reconnected with high school classmates then with family at the Pfeifer family reunion.
    I rode with my sister and brother-in-law to the South Dakota Badlands KOA campground for the family reunion last weekend. We had a nice time reconnecting, visiting and eating with the relatives many of whom we haven't seen in awhile. The weather was nice but very windy at 25 mph. Wore us out after fighting against it all day. I rented a tipi for the night. I had a queen size futon to sleep on which was comfortable. There was no lights in the tipi so I was glad I had brought along my headlamp. It came in handy. My sister freaked out when I told her there had been a field mouse in the tipi when I first checked out the tipi. He was cute. LOL. He took off and never bothered me. My Slumberjack camping blanket was the best at keeping me warm in the cool 50 degree night. The birds did wake me at 4am and again at 6am.
    I am now en route home. Spending tonight in Salina, KS. I'm at the same hotel and even in the same room as I had on June 14 when I started this trip.
    Looking forward to being home tomorrow.
    Read more