Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    O Porrino to Pondeverde

    July 12, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    Well, pushing that many kilometers may not have been a good idea with a broken blister, ouch.
    I was so tired (and my knee and blister were really troubling me) that I did not write up this day until after my Camino ended, hence a lack of information, sorry. I knew that I wanted to be in Ponteverde for the evening to make sure that I had enough time to fit in the Variante Espiritual, starting the following day. What I hadn't banked on was walking my farthest ever, 40km. I stopped in the afternoon to book ahead as I knew that I needed to be sure of a bed.
    Before that, I met a lovely German lady and we walked together, chatting for about half an hour, my first conversation for hours. I decided to walk on at the next rest point as I had a lot further to go.
    Passing through Rendondela I then had a very steep climbs which eventually ended in a forest. Was very grateful to find a drinking fountain part way up to replenish my water supply.
    Nearing Ponteverde, I met a young Spanish pilgrim who had passed me earlier. We chatted as we walked on at quite a pace. On entering Ponteverde we went our own way, I still had a distance to walk as I had chosen a hostel on the it had been over 13 hours since I left the hostel that morning. I'd had better days 😉
    Read more