Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    5. Whistler

    August 19, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Plan changed today, as the weather broadcast announced "smoky" air for the next days. As today seemed to be the "best" day, I choosed to hike on the mountains surrounding Whistler. As Whistler is a classic mountain village, there are a lot of gondolas and hiking trails. I arrived first of all on Blackcomb Mountain where I could observe marmots, chipmunks and pikas during my hike. With the record breaking Peak2Peak-Gondola, I reached Whistler Mountain where I got to the summit with a chairlift. There was another suspending bridge. So, three really heavy rides if you have fear of heights 😳 Hiking down to the next gondola station to arrive Whistler again, I could observe my first black bears 🐻 Even that the views weren't excellent due to the wildfires, it was a good day with 2 nice hikes and lot of wildlife.Read more