Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    25. Hope to Victoria

    September 8, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Started the day with a stop at the Bridal Veil Falls. After that, I washed my car as I had to return to Vancouver Airport. In Canada, you can't rent a car longer than 4 weeks. As I need the car til the end of september, I had to present myself at the car rental, register again...I thought this would be very complex, however, it took only seconds and I could keep even my actual car.
    Even with the stop, car wash and drive to the airport, I was way to early ready for a next adventure as I booked a ferry to Vancouver at 4 p.m. So, I decided to visit the lighthouse in Tsawwassen, 30 minutes away from the ferry terminal. Google maps and go...but what I didn't know - the lighthouse was in the USA. And in the road before the border, turn-around wasn't possible. So a policeman told me, that I'm already in the US and I must do a check-up at the border. Puuh, I got nervous as I didn't have a visum. But the guy at border control was very nice and friendly. He told me, that I'm not the only one who had done this by mistake. So, he controlled by documents, gave me a refusal and I had to drive back to Canada, where I got controlled again - so I was for 10 minutes in the USA, thanks google 😂 After that, I picnicked at the beach and drived to the terminal. There I got an earlier ferry. The cruise to Victoria lasts 1,5 hours, time for whale watching - and yes I saw my first Orcas from a great distance 🐳
    After check-in, I visited the city of Victoria. A charming town with lot of houses in victorian style, pubs and restaurants. Should have probably stay more than 1 night here, however saw with my hike most of the best places so no need to do tomorrow a hop-on hop-off tour.
    Read more