Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    26. Victoria to Port Alberni

    September 9, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Started the day at the Victoria butterfly garden, only 10 minutes away from my motel. They had an interesting collection of exotic butterflies, parrots and insects. After that, I visited the Goldstream Provincial Park, who got his name of a gold mine near to the river. I hiked to the Visitor Center, the Niagara falls (yes, same name, other dimensions😂) and to an old railway bridge - a lost place without any function anymore. After that, visit of the Malahat Skywalk. It was comparable to the tower at the Saarschleife - same spiral tower, a fantastic view, but this lookout had a slide to leave it :D
    After a quick stopp at the Old Market in Coombs, known for its "Goats on the Roof", I visited the MacMillan Provincial Park with a hike at the Cathedral Grove - a forest with enormous big douglas and cedars 🌲🌳 A quick stopp at the "Hole in the Wall" and I finally checked in at Port Alberni in a motel, that reminds me of those motels where killers in crime movies are staying 😳
    Read more