Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    40. Alert Bay to Nanaimo

    September 23, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    Nothing special today, I have the feeling my trip comes to an end😬😂

    Started relaxed, enjoying the view from my room and observing Dall's porpoises, harbour seals and river otters! 😍 than, after a small breakfast offered by the hotel, I continued to the east end of the island to watch some whale activity.

    Took the ferry back to Port McNeill and took then my 4 hours long drive to Nanaimo. Since there are only few well-maintained roads on Vancouver Island, I had to take the same highway back to Campbell River - so there were no stops along the way. Then, I changed to the so called ocean road to get some nice views, but weather was not so nice today.

    Finally arrived in Nanaimo, where I checked in a bed&breakfast - a house where an old nice, but very small lady lives 👵Enjoyed a meal in Nanaimo and planned the next day - where I will take the ferry back to mainland and Vancouver.
    Thus, today not really exciting things happened 🤷‍♂️
    Read more