Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    41. Nanaimo to Vancouver

    September 24, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    After a nice breakfast made by the older friendly lady, I visited the Neck Point Park. There were some nice views and guess what - I saw again some humpback whales. I knew that they are very common around Vancouver Island, but didn't know that I could see them everywhere - if I had known this before, I could have saved myself the first whale watching tour (day 28) where I saw the humpacks only from the distance 😅
    The park is said to have a gnome colony, thus the small doors on some trees. It's the work of an older guy living in Nainoma, who did this for the kids.

    After that, I hiked to the so-callled "abyss". Extension Ridge is known locally as ‘The Abyss’ because of a 16″ earthquake fissure found there. Although not much is known about this large crack in the earth, there is speculation that it could be a result of a collapsed mine tunnel that was triggered by an earthquake. To date there is no information about how deep the crack is.

    After a visit of the town center of Nanaimo with its harbour, I headed to the Petroglyph Provincial Park, where you can find some prehistoric sandstone rock carvings done by First Nations people more than 1000 years ago.

    I took finally the ferry at Duke Point back to Tsawwassen (day 25) and drived to Vancouver. There, I wanted to visit the Richmond Night Market to get some flashbacks from my 2018er China trip, however the market was closed due to the rain and announced coming storm. So I ended up check in my guesthouse in Vancouver. It's however another guest house where I gonna stay for the next three days as at the start of my trip.
    Read more