Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    ⛩️ Miyajima Island I ⛩️

    November 14, 2019 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    I didn't realise until on Miyajima Island itself, but there were a lot of deer or 'しか' (shika) 🦌 that populate the island. I was so excited when I realised how close you're able to get to them. Majority let you pat them :)
    Though you must be careful because they will eat anything, especially paper! 📄
    People have had their money eaten from their back pockets in the past...

    I think I'm getting better at taking photos which is exciting because there were many cool things to see and explore in the island. However despite having a couple hours to explore, I was not able to see the whole island and all it had to offer.
    On a map I picked up it detailed suggested tours, the shortest of which took 3 hours and the longest 6 hours, yet that still did not cover everything! No wonder I couldn't explore everything I wanted to :/

    The famous Otorii Gate was something I missed out on seeing. I freaked out because I thought it was my fault for not managing my time well and making it my priority to see. However, it had actually been under repair since June 2019, so it was no fault of my own that I missed seeing the sight.

    I was able to visit the main Itsukushima Shrine which was really cool to see. I love a lot of the architectural features. Something else that was noticeably a cool inclusion, was the artwork painted and hung to the walls of the temple by junior high school students. They were very talented and beautiful scenes.
    Read more