Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    ⛩️ Miyajima Island II ⛩️

    November 14, 2019 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    I explored with my friends after visiting Itsukushima Shrine to see smaller shrines, explore the scenery, try some food, look through the shops and take the ferry back.

    We didn't go inside the smaller shrines but I found enjoyment in just looking at the architecture from the outside. The surrounding scenery was an added to delight to visiting the shrines too.
    We found some interesting spots on the way, including some signage Madeleine got a photo in hehe :)

    I decided to try some grilled squid. I was excited to try it because I have seen it in a quite a few anime (when the characters visit a festival generally). I enjoyed watching the vendor prepare it and cook it over a metal grill with coals beneath.
    It tasted pretty nice, however the price wasn't exactly cheap so I don't think I would purchase it in the future. Though I am glad I tried it in the first place :)

    There were MANY shops with various things for sale. I managed to find the perfect shot glass to represent Japan for my collection :D
    I also came across a store that sold 'fruit honey' - something I have wanted to try and buy since I saw Felix and Marzia try it on their trip to Japan. However, the price was about $15 for only 120grams and I felt despite its allure, I should spend my money more wisely.
    Another interesting find was the small samurai swords that could be used as earpicks...

    The ferry ride back was fun, especially when accompanied by friends that like to have fun and be a little silly :)
    Read more