Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Shocks and Heroes

    September 24, 2022 in Hungary ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    First proper morning brunch at a nearby cafe. Lesley had a mixed muesli while I went for the scrambled egg and bacon. Breakfast with salad? But that wasn’t the biggest shock! A mouthful of ‘green peppers’ from the salad set my mouth on fire and tears streaming down. NOT green peppers but chilli peppers!! Now I like reasonably strong chillies but for breakfast when I wasn’t expecting them?

    After re-setting my mouth it was time for a walk past the Basilica and then on to find Budapest’s Heroes Square, noted for its iconic Millennium Monument (a 36m high pillar topped by a golden Archangel Gabriel) with statues featuring the seven chieftains of the Magyars and other important kings and heroes.

    A long walk so a nice cold beer before visiting the monuments and then an underground train back to our apartment ready for the afternoon.
    Read more