Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Travel time

    October 27, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Leaving Houston in a bit. Off to Singapore. Unfortunately the plane is fully booked and I can’t get an upgrade. So it’s gonna be a 23:30 hours flight time in economy. Wow. I must admit I’m nervous. Never been that long in a plane. We will stop once in Manchester, for fueling. Suppose we leave the aircraft then for a few minutes. Also my itinerary shows +2 on the arrival time. Never span 2 days on a plane, either.
    The ride to the airport was interesting. I used lyft which is a kinda uber, because apparently nobody uses regular cabs anymore. It costs about half the price of a taxi. I was driven by a young couple, she was a very courageous driver, taking every opportunity to change lanes (lane*s*, as in *multiple*!) to gain a few seconds. Wow. But she had it under control (even when the guy next to her started to give her driving lessons, slightly condescending). He had a real purpose, too, being the navigator by reading out google maps instructions. And he picked the music. So we all soon moved parts of our body (fingers-driver girl, toes-me, head & shoulders-navi boy) to R&B ‘classics’ like Usher and Genuwine. Herrlich!
    The airport itself is ok-ish. But I didn’t need much except an Astros Tshirt (check) and a new neck pillow (actually, for lower back support, also check). Now I’m sitting in a seafood bar at the Houston airport, eating oysters once more (and these are wayyy better than the ones I had in the first day!), being halfway through my second margarita and think of the dear people I met this week. Miss them.
    Read more