Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Alone in big country

    September 19, 2022 in Scotland ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Can you imagine? An A-road that is 35 miles long with only one turning off, has the most isolated pub in Britain half way along it (owned by the church) and one village. It is the most wonderful road I have ever ridden and finishing the last 16 miles this morning was a highlight of this journey. The space is so peaceful, just bog and mountain as far as you can see. Loved it.

    Then at Tongue I joined the North Coast 500. Hideous lines of mobile homes seeing views but experiencing nothing. I got philosophical and quietly shouted pig every time I pulled in for one and they didn't t say thanks!

    I got even more philosophical and thought about journeys by bike. On a bike you become part of the journey. You're not just travelling through. You feel it in your body, you smell it in the air, you notice the tiny things and hear all the noises around.

    I wasn't expecting it but at Tingue you hit the coast again. What lovely sandy, deserted beaches, big waves. And sun!

    I took a picture of Bettyhill for my friend Michael who finished his first JOGLE day there.

    Spoke to lots of LEJOGgers today. Mostly we share similar experiences and wish each other happy rides. A fraternal feeling!

    65 miles, another 4052ft of uphill. Last 25 miles tomorrow.
    Read more