Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    A gentle day

    September 18, 2022 in Scotland ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Gentle?, I hear you say. What's so gentle about 70 miles and 2500 ft of ascent? It just seemed gentle. No nasty steep bits. Just miles and miles of gently going up.

    Saw loads of oil platforms in the Firth of Cromarty. And an AA box. A bit of a rarity nowadays but no uniformed patrolman waiting to salute me.🙁

    Reflections on the river below Bonar Bridge were perfect but landscapes are difficult to catch on a phone camera. Cycling gives you time to stop. Saw people in cars passing the views with nowhere to stop and look. Glad I was on my bike!

    Strangely the cycle route takes you to a river crossing with numerous steps. But I was forewarned and stayed on the quiet A road. Yesterday I saw some of the mass ride of end to enders. Today I passed their final campsite...115 miles from the end. A vast field full of tents. Apparently there are 800 of them. Some company on the journey I suppose.

    First sign for Altnaharra is at the last turning onto the single track road. 20+ miles of nothing apart from moors, trees and new wind farms. Across Flow Country, storing 3 times more carbon than all the trees in the UK.

    20 miles of nothing except The Crask Inn. Its famous for being the most remote pub in Scotland and a welcome sight for LEJOGgers. Guess what....closed for today only. Ah well. Next time I'm passing!

    What relief when you reach the sign saying 3/4 mile.

    Beer, haggis, tagliatelle in that order.

    Penultimate ride tomorrow.
    Read more