Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Day 5 - Hubbard Glacier

    September 20, 2023 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 5 °C

    Today was at sea and sailing to the Hubbard Glacier. The weather was awful, raining hard and miserable 🌧️ so I wondered how much we'd see in the murky greyness. Having never seen a glacier I didn't realise it's really white and you can't fail to see it whatever the weather 🤔. Hubbard is the largest in the North American continent and is still growing, in contrast to most glaciers which are shrinking - 11,000 feet above sea level and 76 miles long. It was stunning even in pouring rain - very white and blue. Googled why it looks blue but it's a very scientific explanation which I don't understand (physics wasn't my strong point much to my dad's dismay 😉).
    After taking all the pics, and getting soaked, we got changed and went to sit in one of the lovely quiet bars with a coffee and a gin and tonic to do some crosswords. Are we showing our age??
    Had a chilled afternoon and then I went to the spa for a 75 min massage and facial - was quite painful to be honest, particularly down the sides of my legs and my lower back, which the therapist said was due to the tightness because of my knees. I've booked Mark in for an acupuncture session to try and ease his back.
    We'd booked dinner in one of the speciality restaurants, which you have to pay extra for, and the whole experience would have been lovely except I was starting to feel ever so slightly seasick 🤢. The sea was really choppy and the restaurant was right at the back of the boat, our table (apparently one of the best) looked out over the water. Had it been really calm this may have been amazing but looking at waves bouncing up and down in the dark wasn't any good for me and I struggled to enjoy the food.
    We'd wanted to go to the Abba singalong and dance but sadly I just wanted to lie down and take a sickness pill 😦. It did the trick anyway and I went straight to sleep. Happy days 😋
    Read more