Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Santo Domingo de la Calzada

    October 1, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 86 °F

    Well, due to my friendly little Covid friends, we bussed to the next town today, Santo Domingo de la Calzada. As we pulled into the town, it did not look impressive. It looked kind of industrial. Here all the buildings are earth tones. Honestly, the entrance to the town had kind of a Soviet feel to it.

    However, when we got off the bus and walked to the hotel where we are staying, we walk through the old part of town, which is amazing. This town has a cathedral! We went to get some lunch, which was a big deal since I haven’t eaten in a few days. Turns out I was only able to eat a little bit, but improvement is improvement! We kept seeing chicken stuff around town. Then I remembered I had read about this before we came here. So this is the town where allegedly some German pilgrims were coming through in the 11th century. Their son was accused of theft and was hung on the spot. Santo Domingo was alive at that time, and he jumped under the suns body to hold him up so he would not die. then the parents went and asked the judge to forgive their son, and not sentence him to death. The judge was eating his lunch, and he said I will commute your son sentence when these chickens that I am eating spring up and start dancing on the plate. And they did! The miraculous chickens! Somewhere in the cathedral, you can see chickens that are kept in there in a cage. After lunch, we went to the Cathedral to see if we could see the chickens which are descendants of the original miraculous chickens. But we did not see the chickens. By then, my limit of energy expenditure had been reached, and we needed to come home. So we went to the hotel and took a nap.

    I think I am getting better. I woke up with a lot of optimism this morning. I really need decongestant and maybe paxlovid, but it is Sunday in rural Spain so all of that has to wait until tomorrow morning. For the record I feel crummy tonight but not like I’m dying, so there’s that!
    Read more