Satelliitti
Näytä kartalla
  • Päivä 16

    San Juan de Ortega, pop. 24

    3. lokakuuta 2023, Espanja ⋅ ⛅ 68 °F

    Okay, this is a very small place! Only 24 people!

    We decided to walk halfway here this morning and taxi over from Villafranca Monte de la Oca, which would be about 12 km of walking. But it was cloudy and cool for once and the first half was virtually flat through dried sunflower fields in various stages of harvest, and when we stopped at the midway point for a sandwich (bocadillo) and a soda, I told David I was feeling good and I’d like to do the rest of the walk. I could see on our mapping apps that it was a little uphill and then through forests. So we did it. Amazingly I’m feeling 100% like I’d normally feel if I’d walked that far, only I have a bit of a cough and still haven’t regained my voice so I kind of sound like a raspy Mickey Mouse when I try to talk. David appears to be completely back to normal now! So for our friends who offered up prayers for fast our fast recovery, thank you! ❤️

    The countryside here in Castilla y Leon is more dry than where we’ve been previously. We were thinking some parts of the scenery here look like the chaparral in California.

    Once we arrived in San Juan de Ortega we stopped in to the church before finding our lodgings. It’s a surprisingly big church with ornate stonework for such a small place. A group of older Germans on some sort of tour were there and they began to sing what sounded kind of like a Gregorian chant. It was very pretty. We’ve been having some interesting talks about our spiritual and religious beliefs while on our walks, which is new for us for the most part.

    We’re going to get dinner at the only place in town in a bit, and we’re walking into the city of Burgos tomorrow. We’re going to get COVID tests and see if both of us test negative yet. I’m guessing David will.
    Lue lisää