Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Cathedral Saint-Jean-Baptiste, Lyon

    April 18, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    Late afternoon brought us to the Saint Jean the Baptist Cathedral in Lyon, where I found my familiar Camino scallop shell on the sidewalk. Many pilgrims start their walking their Camino de Santiago in Lyon instead of Saint Jean Pied de Porte where I started.
    The Cathedral is surrounded by narrow streets of cafes and shops selling everything from puppets, to waffles, to crepes and art. These three main streets are built parallel to each other and parallel to the river Saone. In order to access the different streets, small "traboules" or secret passageways were built throughout the old city. There are about 400 of these crossings, but only about 40 are open to the public. These passages became an important tool for the French Resistance during WWII. We walked through one such shortcut to reach the Cathedral.
    Inside the church, the altar was bathed in blue light from stained glass windows and reminded me of some of the Cathedrals on my pilgrimage. Even the rose window brought back thoughts and emotions from my walk.
    How lovely it was to sit a moment in my memories.
    Read more