Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Aix-en-Provence

    April 19, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    This morning we boarded our bus at 8:00 am and headed south to Aix-en-Provence, which is an area known for lavender fields, fields of fresh produce, ratatouille and almonds. It is also famous for being the home of Cezanne, one of the impressionist painters who changed the world with their new techniques in painting.
    Once in town, we walked to the historic center where every square seems to have a fountain. Here we visited the Cathedral which was partly in a romanesque style and partly gothic. I particularly liked one stained glass window depicting Mary and Joseph with baby Jesus traveling by donkey.
    Doug and I bought a lavender soap to take home and then enjoyed a tapas of feta cheese in a light pastry with basil and dried fruits and nuts in honey. Practicing my French, I managed to order Doug a full bodied beer that he enjoyed while I had a Coca Cola zero.
    As we were returning to our host, we saw a bright red vintage motorcycle parked in the square that really got Doug's attention. I looked around and found the owner. Between my rusty French and his patience, I learned that it was an Italian bike from 1936 and that there were only a handful made. It was Italia Gucci. I've always known Doug loves redheads, and maybe I should be worried because he certainly fell in love with this bright red Italian lady!
    Read more