Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22–26

    Jardín

    December 6, 2023 in Colombia ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Spent the last four days in Jardín, a small town around 3h by bus from Medellín. Although Jardín becomes more and more touristic you can still observe the traditional Colombian life in the streets. It was especially interesting to see how Jardín celebrates “El día de las velitas” on the 7th of December where religious families enlighten the streets with a lot of candles!
    I stayed at the accommodation of a sweet family a bit outside of the city centre which was perfect to relax for a few days. The main transportation vehicle I used was “La Garrucha”, the small gondola lift in the pictures. Feels a bit unsafe but I guess it was fine…:) Besides relaxing I did some hikes to watch the famous waterfalls and caves around Jardín. Since Jardín has not established itself yet on the so called gringo route (tourist route mainly European and American visitors follow) I got to know many Colombian tourists and spread my phone number since everyone wants to visit me in Germany, let’s see how many of them will make it:))
    Read more