Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 90–92

    Isla del Sol

    February 12 in Bolivia ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    Made it to Bolivia!🇧🇴I must say I was a bit nervous about crossing the border since I did not get a stamp in my passport at the airport in Lima when entering Peru and I did not have any ticket that shows that I would leave the country within 90 days (Colombia and Peru both requested these tickets) but it turned out to be the easiest process ever. With the bus we stopped at the border and got off at the Peruvian side to get our exit stamp, then we walked over to the Bolivian side to get the entry stamp and that was it:) My first stop in Bolivia was Isla del Sol which is the biggest island on the Lake Titicaca. First I needed to go to Copacabana and then hopped on a boat to the island. On the island there is three indigenous communities living and you can choose whether to just visit the island for a day or to stay at an accommodation of an indigenous family for a few nights. I did the latter in order to have more time to visit the places. During the boat ride I got to know two Brazilian tourists and so the second day we decided to discover the island from the north to the south together. The landscape is incredibly beautiful and the views have changed so quickly all the time. At the beginning of the hike we met a young guy living in the Northern community who explained to us how the people grow food on the terraces and collected some herbs for infusions for us. In general the people here are super friendly and open which makes you feel very welcomed. Although it should be the Isla del Sol (deriving from the dios del sol - the god of the sun who is said to have sent a couple from this island to Cusco to start the imperium of the inkas) it is pretty cold here so I’ll rather continue soonish:)Read more