Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Lake Pukaki and Mt Cook

    November 24, 2023 in New Zealand

    Yer woke up and had a bit of a telling off by a ranger, apparently I wasn't meant to camp in that car park as I am not self contained or something 🙄 anyways, he took pity and didn't fine me! Phew!!!
    But drove off around 8ish after a not very comfy night and went to explore Mt Cook... yup, equally beautiful! 😁
    Did 2 hikes, one across a few swing bridges which were fun as well...
    Headed to my next camp site which I knew I was allowed to be in (!!!) via Landis Pass... the camp site is at a site with a historical hotel ruins there so thought it would be pretty cool... had to drive down a dirt path for about 20 mins, avoiding the stubborn cows and scaring the sheep! When I arrived I was the only person there... the ruins were pretty cool but could have been quite creapy if no one else showed up!!! Which luckily they did! Befriended 2 couples who were travelling together in 2 campers so did my usual approach of 'you guys drink wine? ... Great, I come with wine, can I join you?!' And sat in their camper chatting till bed time! Great night, fab location!
    Read more