Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Lake Wanaka

    November 25, 2023 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Woke up, freezing feet... and the car was completely frozen over 🥶 immediately put on the engine and straddled the steering wheel with feet on vents to warm up!!! (Got some funny looks from a couple of the other campers 🤣) Made for an early start though, was up and out on the road before 7:30 which was great!
    Went to Lane Wanaka possibly my favourite lake so far! So blue and with great mountains in the background... I saw some people swimming and decided incould do with a wash after a couple of days in the car so went in myself... omg it was cold... skin tingling cold but amazing!!! I think it's Glacier water as well so full of minerals 🤔 (no idea!) Felt so good after as well!!! Went on another hike around part of the lake (starting to become a bit of a routine this!), got a coffee and headed off to Queenstown... after Queenstown I'm going to try and stop off again at Lake Wanaka on my way up to the glaciers 😁
    Blindly following Google maps took me via Crown Range Road which was very steep and VERY windy... but had some beautiful look outs... also discovered it is the highest sealed road in New Zealand!!! That's pretty cool!
    Arrived at the hostel, sharing a 4 bed mix dorm with 2 German teens! Very sweet, one asked if I had just finished school!!!!!!
    Went out for a few drinks and met a lovely couple who let me join in their card game, Merol and Jack. We had a few beers and went for food, shame I never got a pic of us all, never mind!
    I was pooped so went back yo the hostel and in bed by 10:30!!
    Read more