Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    30km of road, but deep in thoughts

    May 3, 2021 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    Yesterday morning the ways of Carina and myself separated as she continued her route with her cousin who had come from Porto. It was a gruelling day of 30 kms on hard roads, no pavement and trucks nearly taking me with them when they passed. Sun and strong side Winds for most of the route did the rest.
    As I walked, I listened to a podcast "und dann?" on Audible which looked at all aspects around the topic of "Death", from the question of "when are you actually dead" , through "fear of death" , "the suffering around death", "hospice work", "assisted suicide" in switzerland, and the general fear of disappearing which has lead to "crionics" (freezing the brain or body parts to wake them up in 200 years, then research on the brain where one tries to digitalize all the information in the brain with the idea of being able to upload information and maybe no longer even needing a body, and finally, a very philosophical part on "what is human?" , "whether death is actually an essential part of being human, on Spirituality and faith.
    As I walked I reflected on my own end, on what COVID is doing with society at the moment, where society is heading, but also the opportunity for society to change itself radically.
    Read more