Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    Pilgrims everywhere, and a Wipe-out

    May 9, 2021 in Portugal ⋅ 🌧 14 °C

    The 13th of May is the anniversary of the apparition of Maria in Fatima and pilgrims from all over Portugal are heading to Fatima. On my route yesterday and today I have met several hundred. Joyful groups who have been walking for days, partially without luggage and accompanied by vehicles, others with rucksacks. All colours, ages and ethnicities.
    WOW! What a movement, what faith!

    As I was navigating down one of these wet sandy paths later this afternoon what I feared most, happened. I WIPED OUT!
    My front wheel had slipped sideways off a rut and my bike looped sideways as I flew through the air. With bloody legs and bruises all over but thank god no further damage.
    I shook myself, only to discover that the half liter milk I had bought earlier had burst inside my bag distributing itself between my equipment and clothes.
    Wet, and covered in mud, I screamed my frustration!
    One of those moments where one asks:
    "what the FUCK am I doing here?"
    Read more