Satelit
Tampilkan pada peta
  • Hari 9

    Snakes

    17 Mei 2023, Amerika Serikat ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Snakes are not my "cup of tea". But the nice thing about rattle snakes is that that they warn you with their rattle. But what if he is sleeping and doesn't notice you comming?
    Unlike the South African Puff Adder, who lies in the middle of the path and doesn't move, the rattle snake likes to lie in the bush directly next to the trail. And so it was that I was walking along in the late afternoon, when suddenly, directly next to my ankle it starts to rattle like crazy! I must have jumped 5 meters! There in the bush directly next to my ankle a huge big fat bugger, rattling and rattling. My heart beat was at 309bpm.
    But all this was topped yesterday. At 10:30 the sun started to beat down and I desperately needed a break in the shade. Within 100m there was only one bush big enough to make shade. I spread out my mat and unpacked my bag to have a snack. Then Matt joined me and we chatted, when suddenly out of the bush directly next to him we suddenly hear an incredible rattling. The Rattler was exactly 30cm from his back curled up in the bush. We lept aside. The snake was so pissed off that he continued rattling for another 5 minutes even though we were gone. The problem was how to get my things out. We slowly pulled on my tarpaulin making sure nothing fell off, dragging it 10 meters before repacking my bag. OH MY GOD!!!!

    But talking of snakes., a PCT hiker posted the following pictures of two male snakes fighting over a lady who was waiting in the bushes watching them.
    Baca selengkapnya