Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Hitch hike into Julian.

    May 17, 2023 in the United States ⋅ 🌫 27 °C

    This morning I hitch hiked into Julian to buy some new shoes, waiting one hour untill a 73 year old lady gave me a lift on the back of her pick-up. She had to quickly drop off ice at home and so she proudly presented me her newly bought empty property in the desert and Trailer in which she lives with her dog. San Diego has become too expensive she said. I believe in this country there are many older people who no longer can afford an apartment and seek such a solution. But she was not complaining about life and was full of ideas of what trees she wanted to plant. How inspiring!
    After picking up some new shoes, and by god do they make a difference, the trail Angel "proffessor" drove us back to the trail where a whole group of hikers was passing the afternoon under a bridge. I decided to walk. My super new shoes and about 2kg less weight (which I had brought to the post office), led to a really good walking "flow" as I climbed 700m in the afternoon heat.
    Then suddenly directly next to my foot a fat rattler! Despite the fact that I was paying attention and expecting snakes, I had not seen him. I leapt screeching "oh shit!" And he didn't even rattle nor move. He was just sitting there, I think digesting his meal.
    After 15 km and just before dark I pitched tent.
    Read more