Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Long first day(s)

    July 13, 2023 in Israel ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    Yesterday was long. I was away for over 24 hours, possibly the first time ever. Despite a few hiccups, we arrived safe and sound in Jerusalem. It was an adventure, but I don't want to focus on the negatives (mostly things out of my control and a couple of dumb mistakes on my part).

    We are in a beautiful apartment not far from Ben Yehuda. Some website calls this neighborhood Nahlaot but I have no idea if that is accurate. Everything seems old and significant and mysterious. Arch-covered alleys leading to courtyards or other streets, half-naked Israeli women smoking and walking beside Hasidim, Hebrew all around us (that we don't understand at all). I'm sure we stick out like sore thumbs - when people immediately flip into English, that's a sure sign. Does that mean they look down at us? I don't know. It's scary and intriguing. I wish I could just wander the streets all day taking it in.

    But, we have to get some things in. Not sure what it will be today. Maybe the Old City.
    Read more