Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    All over the map

    October 18, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    Such a day! We drug our feet till 8:00 because it was so rainy, and finally set out s as daylight arrived. I was well ponchoed (is that a word?) and reconciled to a long walk through rain. After a climb I crossed into Galicia, Celtic Spain, and then entered O Cebreiro, where I visited the church where Fr. Elías Valiña Sampedro, who revived the Camino, lived and was buried. I was able to enter the church where he offered Mass and was buried. I need to read more about him!

    Then another looong downward climb. Morgan was ahead and I walked mostly with David and Ollie. I will miss them so much when we have to say goodbye! We got soaked, kept on, and then after lunch, voíla! No rain! A brisk wind stayed with us, and by the time we eased into Tricastela, we were quite dry. Amazing! Once it cleared off we were able to see some great vistas as we descended. A good day!

    Now it is raining again, but I’m warm and dry, perched on my top bunk listening to it come down. So cozy! Tomorrow a serious downpour is predicted. Two inches of rain!! We will swim to Sarria! We are so close to the end now, it’s hard to believe. I think I get happier every day, somehow. What will it be like to arrive in Santiago? I have no idea…
    Read more