Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Sarria

    October 19, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 14 °C

    Today we walked in a steady rain all day. It wasn’t cold, so not miserable. It was maybe our shortest walk of the Camino, and actually was pretty pleasant.

    Sarria is notable because to earn a Compostela you must walk a minimum of 100 kilometers, and people who want to do that minimal distance start in Sarria. Needless to say, despite all our sincere statements about not judging, we much more …weathered pilgrims tend to make comments for instance about how clean their shoes are, or how their ponchos still have pleats. Not judging though! Oh, no!

    What with the rain and keeping my head down, not a lot of photos today. I like the chicken, and i also had my first piece of Santiago torte at a stop today. The view of the church steeple is what I see out of my albergue window this evening.

    So now we have damp clothes draped everywhere, and newspaper stuffed in our very wet shoes. Tomorrow is another rainy day. In fact, spoiler alert, it looks as if it may rain every day until I leave. But, the walking goes well, and all the major hills and valleys are basically behind us, especially after tomorrow. In theory, the path will be crammed full of new arrivals tomorrow , but I’m thinking that what with the late fall temps and nonstop rain it may mostly be us stalwart long-haulers. I’ll let you know tomorrow.
    Read more