Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Portomarín

    October 20, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 10 °C

    So, I think this morning was the first time I woke up and genuinely wished I could just roll over and go back to sleep. It was dark, it was raining, and we had all barely dried out from the thorough dousing we took yesterday. But, pilgrims persist, and we all got up and headed out, into what turned out to be very light rain which then basically stopped by the time we finished breakfast.

    The walk turned out to be one of the most scenic thus far, reminding me often of the Irish countryside, full of giant trees and mossy rock walls and cows. Most of the day was cloudy and breezy but dry - so much better than predicted! At times the sun even broke through. Once finally tucked into the albergue it got colder and really poured. Sorry, slower pilgrims!

    In four days we will walk into Santiago. I have been re-reading the Letter of James, to better get into his spirit. It’s such a good, pragmatic letter, very suited to pilgrims in some ways, I think.

    As we get closer, a lot of conversations are about how we’ve been affected, or wondering what if anything will be different for each of us once we’re home, but it’s too soon, too close to really know. For now, even if my mind runs ahead my feet still have their job to do, and four days are four days. Time to get some sleep.
    Read more