Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Stay in your lane. Or not.

    April 10, 2023 in Greece ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    What a beautiful drive. Across the very stringy pointy yet impressive bridge and along the windy road to Delphi.

    It was about 60kms all the way - if you obeyed the speed limit. The windyness made it a pleasant drive with bends that rivalled the drive to Bathurst. I was well trained for the road, even on the wrong right side.

    Now to driving - the rules are speed limits are optional. Its like they are speed vague suggestions. Very vague. It doesn’t matter what lines there are or how much room, anyone can overtake anything anytime.

    The cool thing as because this is expected (encouraged even!) everyone moves out of the way on both sides. At home cars fight it, are even resentful that you would dare try to go faster than them. Here you are the weirdo tourist n00b if you don’t.

    Interesting to note almost every car is the size of a mazda 3 or the suzuki swift I am driving. Makes parking possible.

    Today I did my first Greek style overtake. Sure enough the cars around me scooted to the flanks and I got through safely. Now I have done this once I will go back to being a weirdo tourist n00b, happily.
    Read more