Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    More driving

    September 30, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Bit wet when we woke up, quite unusual recently. Found somewhere local in Nuremberg for our Saturday morning breakfast and headed over. Got us our table, translated the menu, ordered and paid all in the lingo. Getting more confident.
    Headed on our merry way. Today’s job being to travel north and make headway to our next goal, my birth town. We drove half each aiming for a camp site I had earmarked though sadly, they were full. Another family with a caravan were hoping to stay too, on the off chance. Bit of a gamble when you’re towing a massive caravan. Maybe that’s the norm here? Did a bit of shopping and headed on a little further to a lovely old town called Trendleburg in the Kassel district. A municipality park up in the countryside, very lovely. Phoned to book in my very best deutsch again though she did actually speak English. I tried. I rescued a little dog trapped in the bushes on an extendable lead. It had gone through the bushes then gone back another way, owner couldn’t it back. I unhooked the dog and sent it back through, owner very grateful. I noticed after that I had something in my eye which I could just not shift. Took quite a few hours to dissipate, thought I’d scratched my eyeball. All clear this morning though. Bloody dogs!
    Gary managed to stream the footy then we walked in to the town to look for a cash point. Lovely stroll. Made dinner whilst chatting to Alex and Lucas then watched a bit of catch up tv.
    Read more