Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    DC, we’re ready, Library of Congress

    July 29, 2022 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 24 °C

    In retrospective yesterday has been too exhausting. Whilst living through today I just thought that I am done with the big city life and wanna leave to someplace else. Maybe a combination of both. We’re in the US since 4 days and it’s already our 5th state I think and the 3rd city. Maybe we should slow down a bit. ;)
    The metro is not as loud as the one in NY and it’s really an experience to drive with the Metro bus - it took me quite some while to understand how to make them stop (there’s a yellow cord on the sides which you have to pull to signal the driver you wanna get off) and to get the system of street corner names (a combination of a number and a name - honestly, an awesome system because you always know how many blocks you’re away).
    Today we’ve been to the biggest library of the world which inhabits one of only 3 perfect copies of the Gutenberg bible and gained a great deal of knowledge from an old tourguide there. Also we are now able to enter the main reading hall for two years and have a pass with mugshot as proof. :D
    Unfortunately we didn’t have a place to stay, so we had to book something from the spot and it’s the first time I keep all my worthy belongings with me up in my bed. It’s really dirty and our room mate’s a real weirdo… not a nice atmosphere. We decided to leave for the beach tomorrow. Jacksonville, Florida.
    I wasn’t too much into the idea of going to Miami so we decided to take a pit stop (3 days) at the beach before visiting New Orleans. The place where The Originals is set.
    Read more