Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Luigi’s Church, eats and more Elisa Blu

    May 26, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    After seeing the Pantheon, I went to Luigi Francescos church. Mario could make it but I thought Luigi did a good job as the main character for once. It was very pretty and lots of things were covered in gold. The detail all over its inside was quite nice and I could stare at it for hours. I actually did sit down and stare at it for quite a while. There were some school groups and some youngsters who talked quite a lot so got shushed by the megaphone which got progressively more passive aggressive. There’s only so loud you can go when shushing though so I think they got a bit louder but also came with a bit more intensity each time.

    I saw a cute ferry going under the bridge I was walking on across the Trastevere (which me and sara sigh when we find out we have to go to when we plan to go places- refer to the steps that are currently the bane of our existence in the 2nd and 3rd last slide (the pictures don’t even begin to do the stairs justice though)), and when stopping to take the photo I noticed just how many tourists I was surrounded by as 3 other people/ couples also stopped to take one.

    Sara and I got lunch with her Nonna and her Nonna’s niece so here are some photos of the restaurant and our food that I guarantee is better that the food you are having for dinner. Sorry. I have also included photos of our lunch today to reinstate that fact. Sorry. Today, we had this lunch with Susannah and she showed us her (or I think her husbands) art studio which was so so cool. They do stop motions and some more cartoony works and teach at the illustration school down the street. She is a children’s book author and we saw one of the ones she had written in the book store also down the street. They are preparing for a art festival coming up just after we leave :(( at the start of June and the photos from the one they were part of before covid looked amazing.

    Last but very not least, here is a photo of Elisa Blu’s drawing she did last night. It is her with her boyfriend kissing. She is 5. She told us about him at dinner. Pietro was not impressed 🤌 I read her (or tried to read her) a picture book. Something about the fact that she can’t read and I can’t speak Italian worked quite well when I tried to pronounce certain words. For the most part, we pointed at animals and colours and went from there. I guess we both taught each other 🤷🏼‍♀️
    Read more