Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Ulcinj Southern Montenegro

    June 1, 2019 in Montenegro ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    I set off from Zabljac in the mountains of North East Montenegro in 7c temperature with my boots still damp and my spirit a bit low. The sun soon came out and the scenery is stunning . My reason for that destination was because it is surrounded by 22 peaks over 2000m and 17 lakes. The roads were very good and I didn't take that unmade road of the day before.
    The ride to Ulcinj took about five hours including stops. It's not that far but it is very twisty, great on the bike. I had to stop to remove my jumper when I came down from the mountains and the temperature rose to 23.
    The host here is like the people in Mostar and can't be more helpful. He got a pressures washer and together we washed the mud off the bike then he took me on his scooter (without helmets) into town to a mobile phone repair shop and as I write he has gone to see if it is fixed or it is dead. I'm staying here two nights to sort out the phone and decide where next.
    I've just had breakfast. They don't serve it so I went to a corner shop and bought. A loaf of bread, tuna paste, ham paste, 2 eggs a carton of milk a box of peach juice, a yoghurt for 3.5 euros. The locals tell me compared to this Albania is cheap. More photos will be added when I get a phone working. The one you see is taken with the tablet from my balcony outside my very nice room which cost €25 a night.
    Read more