Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Berat Albania

    June 2, 2019 in Albania ⋅ 🌧 15 °C

    Said goodbye to my excellent hosts at Ulcinj in Montenegro and set off to the border with Albania. I had been traveling for about 10 kilometers down a really nice newly tarmacked road when all of a sudden it was closed as they were putting tar on the next bit. The car in front had Albanian number plate so when he turned round I followed him, then at a junction I came along side and said Albania he said yes follow me, so I did. After at least half an hour we rejoined our intended road and got to the border. This is a double border so the one policeman signs you out of one and into the other.
    Rain threatened once again but it didn't happen in the four hour boring ride with nothing of interest to take photos of. I really am struggling to find nice things to say about the greater Albania. I'm sure further inland it will be prettier as there are mountains and also the coast is probably nice but this middle bit I had to use because of time riding and a big distance was not pretty. I did stop for a chat with some Swiss bikers who had shipped thier bikes to Greece and were riding them back.
    A thunder storm greeted my arrival here so it only rained for the last few minutes of the ride. I was glad of that because it really rained hard for over an hour while I was in my room.
    A lot of Berat is a UNESCO world heritage site and it is pretty so my photos today are from my walk around town or from my 4 star hotel balcony (£30)
    Tomorrow 3rd June I have a short ride to the ferry at durres to go to Bari in Italy. I've decided not to go exploring Corfu because of all this rain. I'm hoping Italy will be a bit better and I'll be out of Albania and back into territory where I can use data on my phone again and my bike once again will have proper insurance and breakdown cover. So my next footprint will probably be from Lecce Italy
    Read more