Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 54

    Home

    July 4, 2019 in England ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    I've been away since 12th May. Nearly 8 weeks and during that time I've traveled 4800 miles. I've been to France twice, Germany, Switzerland, Lichtenstein, Austria, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Italy, Sicily twice, Malta, Sardinia, Corsica.
    I've been on 9 ferries three of which where overnight.
    I did the whole trip alone but never once got lonely. I met many interesting people and made new friends. It is easier to talk to people when you travel alone and came to enjoy the solitude. I was in contact with Mandy every day and took comfort in the fact that she kept busy with her work, her art and her horse and now that I'm back we will enjoy doing things together once again. Maybe another trip in the MG?
    I bought the bike with this trip and a much bigger one to Australia in mind and after 50+ days in the saddle the only thing wrong with the bike is the saddle it's too hard. Other than that the bike proved perfect as long as you keep within its limitations and don't take it over terrain which it's better suited to a lighter smaller bike. I only once had to turn around because the going got too tough. It returned 77 miles per UK gallon or 3.67 litres per 100 kilometres which is very good but I was never in a hurry so my speed was quiet slow most of the time. I put in around a quarter litre of oil and used two cans of chain spray. Taking a spray to clean the bugs off my visor was a good idea.
    The motorcycle jacket and trousers where very good but the boots leaked and lining came out of the gloves.
    Would I do it again. Yes.
    The photos are a selection from the adventure.
    Read more